31 thoughts on “Setting up a Proxy Account to run SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) 2012 packages

  1. Wanted to say, your documentation is as sharp as ever, don’t think I have ever met a guy with better documentation

      • Hello Gilbert I want to setup ssisdb in sql server 2008 r2 server can you help me in that as I am unable to find the Integration services catalog in 2008 r2 server

      • Hi there

        The structure changed quite a lot from SQL Server 2008R2 to SQL Server 2012. In SQL Server 2008 there was no Integration Services Catalog that stored the details.

        So you can follow all the steps until you get to the section where you have to give the domain account access to the SSISDB. For SQL Server 2008, you will then go into the MSDB database and then click under Security, then Roles and under Roles you will see db_ssisadmin, db_ssisltduser, db_ssisoperator. You can then add your domain account to db_ssisoperator.

        You can view this link to view the different operators:

        I hope that this helps.

        Thanks
        Gilbert

  2. This is great presentation..Anyone can easily succeed this task if they follow this step by step procedure..Especially newbies will get good picture on this topic..Well Done, Keep Going Gilbert

  3. These were great instructions! I do think a step was missed, though. You cannot add the domain account the the ssis_admin role in SSISDB (in “Giving the domain account SSIS access in order to run”) unless the account is a user of the SSISDB. That step was missed,if i am not mistaken

  4. Hi Gilbert,
    I had followed all ur steps till Creating the Proxy Account.
    Then after that while Giving the domain account SSIS access in order to run
    My UserName is not showing in the List of SSIS_admin.

    Pease help me on this..

    • Hi there

      I would suggest if you go into the SSIS_DB Database, then click on Security, then expand Roles.
      Under Roles you should see SSIS_Admin.
      Right click under SSIS_Admin and then select your domain User and add them there.

      Hopefully that will resolve your issue?

      Thanks
      Gilbert

  5. Hi Gilbert, great article, thank you!
    I’m the developer of a Package, so the Login and Proxy were created by our IT people, I do not have rights for that, but I suppose they are correctly set.
    My problem: after I deploy my package and execute it through an Agent, like you do in this article, it says ‘execution succesful’, but I do not see any entry in catalog.executions for it. Is this normal? It also does not log anything.
    Thanks for your help,
    Anca

      • Thank you, actually it was on Verbose. The problem was a connection string to the database where I was logging. Windows Authentication didn’t work for the proxy user. I find it strange though that there was no error message anywhere and that running packages through the agent is not logged into catalog.executions.

  6. Hi, I have used this method successfully, however in a current project it isn’t working. The database I am accessing restricts visibility at the view level based on the value in “system_user”. When I use a proxy this way, the value for system_user in the executed SSIS package (via a job) is always “sa”. Is there a way to work around this?

  7. Hi, The approach worked well for me, until the user changed their windows password. That’s when I came across your note in Credentials section. “NOTE 2: Ideally you are going to have a domain account, where the password does not change.” If it is not a domain account and the password might change regularly, is there an alternate way to make this work?

  8. Great article. I thought I’d found the solution to a problem that’s plagued me for days now, but alas the problem remains. Every time I run the step an error occurs: “Error authenticating proxy MYDOMAIN\MYUSER, system error: The user name or password is incorrect.” When in fact, I am absolutely positive the password is correct in the Credential. I thought your piece about adding the user to the SSISDB ssis_admin Database Role would be the answer but no luck. Any thoughts?

    • What I would do, if possible is to actually log into a Windows Server or PC with the username and password, just to make sure that you can actually log in.

      I hope that will lead to finding out the issue, as I suspect it would be with the account and some required settings.

Leave a Reply

